A Chinese way of selling domain names

by Yash 2 Comments

I have been receiving emails from certain companies in China saying they have been approached by some company to register various domains for “Uconomix” like uconomix.cn, uconomix.asia, uconomix.cn, uconomix.com.cn, uconomix.com.hk, uconomix.com.tw etc. And since I own Uconomix.com domain and the Uconomix name, they have kept the application of the other company interested in registering these domains on hold and contacted me! So kind of them!! So if I want to protect my brand name then I must contact them and purchase the said domains from them! And warn that they will wait for my reply only for 7 days after which they will approve the application of the other company.

I was a little surprised when I received one such mail a few months back. I thought of contacting them but then used some common sense, if someone wants to book Uconomix.cn domain name They can just go and buy it! The registrar will not come to the owner of .com domain asking for permission!! So this is a ploy to scare domain owners and make them buy a handful of Chinese domains names. And there are many Chinese registrars who engage in such practices. I keep receiving such mails on various email ids. Obviously they have a bot or a a few idle guys sitting and contacting every .com domain owner they come across and send them a similar mail.

Here’s one such email –

(If you are not the person who is in charge of this, please forward to the right person/ department, as this is urgent, thank you!)

Dear CEO,

We are a leading internet solutions organization in Asia, have something urgent to confirm with you. Yesterday we formally received an application from a company which called “Monotia Trading Co.,LTD”, they were seeking to apply for “uconomix” as Brand name and following Domain Names through our organization:


After our initial examination, we found that the Brand name and Domain Names applied for registration are similar to your company’s. These days we are dealing with it, hope to get the affirmation from your company. If your company did not authorize the aforesaid company to register these, please contact us as soon as possible.

In addition, we hereby declare the time limit for this issue is 7 workdays, if your company files no reply within the time limit, we will unconditionally approve the application submitted by  “Monotia Trading Co.,LTD”.

This is nothing but a scam and a way of fooling unsuspecting people!